Dinner recipes

Chicken Spaghetti

When I first tried to figure out cooking within the parameters that my family’s allergies created, the hardest part was letting go of family recipes that had been passed down through generations. This particular recipe is my grandmother’s, and my mom will tell you the story about my baby shower any time I make it,  because it was the first time that she made it for her. I personally can’t begin to count the number of memories I have of my grandmother making this on a Sunday.

What I have come to realize is that once you get comfortable cooking with substituted ingredients, anything can be tweaked to accommodate. This recipe has a little bit more prep work than some that I post, but the end result is a dish that is sure to please and works well for any season.

20170202_153541_resizedItems you’ll need:

  • 1 pound gluten free spaghetti (can be store bought, or I have a recipe that I will post a link to)
  • 3 stalks of celery, finely chopped
  • 1 white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, finely chopped
  •  3 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 oz mushrooms, finely chopped (from a can is fine)
  • 4 oz pimentos, finely chopped
  • 3 1/2 cups dairy free cheddar cheese
  • 1 qt chicken broth (reserve from prepared chicken is fine)
  • 4 tbsp. corn starch (gluten free all purpose flour works just as well)
  • dairy free parmesan cheese to garnish

20170202_143809_resized

Process- Night Before:

I know that I have said before how much I believe in making a process as simple as possible. I usually try to crock pot cook the chicken the night before to make it easier, but you can cook it day of as well.

To cook the chicken, put 3 pounds of frozen chicken breasts in the crockpot along with about 1/2 an inch of water, a few tablespoons of butter substitute, salt, pepper, minced garlic, and a few pieces of onion. Put the crockpot on low and let it go overnight. By the next morning, you will have tender, juicy shredded chicken with very little work.

20170105_162840_resized

Process- Day of:

(1) Prepare spaghetti.

(2) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

(3)  Put the shredded chicken from the night before in a big mixing bowl.

(4)  Saute celery, onion, and green pepper in a little bit of butter substitute and add it to the chicken. Add mushrooms, pimento, spaghetti, and cheese substitute to the chicken as well. Mix.

20170202_144836_resized

(5) Stir cornstarch into chicken broth and whisk to remove any clumps. Add to spaghetti mixture.

20170202_145407_resized

(6) Pour spaghetti mixture into a greased baking pan. Top with parmesan cheese substitute and bake for 30 minutes.

20170202_153432_resized

This recipe tastes best if you give the chicken broth time to soak into the spaghetti, so wait half an hour before you serve it for best results.

**When you reheat leftovers of this make sure you add chicken broth to make it creamy again.

Leave a Reply

